Mandarin from OCPC medical marijuana review

Standard

Image

The strain we review this time out is Mandarin coming to us from Orange Coast Patient Care (OCPC) in Santa Ana.  It is a strain of some questionable genetics.  OCPC has it listed as a hybrid, and it was recommended by my budtender as sativa dominant.  One look at the buds reaffirms this, with a loose moist structure that is a fluffy cloud to handle.  Mandarin is a light avocado green dotted with orange hairs regularly spread across the surface.  All this is fuzzy with trichromes.  Like a pure sativa, it breaks up chunky both in a grinder and by hand and was sticky to handle as I loaded my bowl.

The smell is sweet and warm, and there is a slight candied orange flavor that may bring its name.  It’s not overpowering or pungent.  Unlike most strains I find in SoCal, I can leave some out broken up without fear of smelling up a whole wing of the house.  When medicating it is much the same.  There is no extraneous odor, and the smoke is light.  The green hit is a bit harsh, but this subsides quickly.  As a whole, the smoking experience is, if not remarkable, completely satisfactory.

The high hit almost immediately.  For a mid-shelf, I was surprised by the quality.  It was cerebral, and when I wasn’t daydreaming, I was giggling to myself.  I had begun my morning on the wrong foot, and Mandarin made a real metamorphosis.  There is a warm vibration feeling across my skin, an effect that I lovingly refer to as butterfly hugs.  Lightheadedness began upon heavy medicating.  There is also some minimal pressure in the sinuses and red eye is a severe side effect.  However, the body effects are minimal: it is clearly a sativa that way.  The most noticed negative was forgetfulness, and I was easily distracted.  It took me three trips downstairs before I could successfully get a drink.  A smiley high, Mandarin is perfect for depression and all its symptoms, or even just a cloudy cool day in need of some sunshine.

Mandarin- $45 = 1/8

Orange County Patient Care

1921 Carnegie Ave. Suite 3H

Santa Ana, Ca 92705

Leave a comment